Mother’s Day Breakfast

Mother’s Day has always been a day that I try to connect with my mom. But I know many people who do not have good relationships with their moms, friends who have lost their moms, friends who’s moms are fighting to live, women who feel alone, and women who feel loved and all across the spectrum, and then I saw this posted on Facebook this morning on my way into church.

A tribute to all women on Mother’s Day:

To those who gave birth this year to their first child—we celebrate with you.
To those who lost a child this year – we mourn with you.
To those who are in the trenches with little ones every day and wear the badge of food stains – we appreciate you.
To those who experienced loss through miscarriage, failed adoptions, or running away—we mourn with you.
To those who walk the hard path of infertility, fraught with pokes, prods, tears, and disappointment – we walk with you. Forgive us when we say foolish things. We don’t mean to make this harder than it is.
To those who are foster moms, mentor moms, and spiritual moms – we need you.
To those who have warm and close relationships with your children – we celebrate with you.
To those who have disappointment, heart ache, and distance with your children – we sit with you.
To those who lost their mothers this year – we grieve with you.
To those who experienced abuse at the hands of your own mother – we acknowledge your experience.
To those who lived through driving tests, medical tests, and the overall testing of motherhood – we are better for having you in our midst.
To those who are single and long to be married and mothering your own children – we mourn that life has not turned out the way you longed for it to be.
To those who step-parent – we walk with you on these complex paths.
To those who envisioned lavishing love on grandchildren -yet that dream is not to be, we grieve with you.
To those who will have emptier nests in the upcoming year – we grieve and rejoice with you.
To those who placed children up for adoption — we commend you for your selflessness and remember how you hold that child in your heart.
And to those who are pregnant with new life, both expected and surprising –we anticipate with you.
This Mother’s Day, we walk with you. Mothering is not for the faint of heart and we have real warriors in our midst. We remember you.

–By Amy Young

I felt like this was a wonderful way to honor all aspects of Mother’s Day! For the first time in a while, I wasn’t as sad on Mother’s Day, being away from my mom.

So I went to church and got started! We had a busy day today!

Today was our Spring Breakfast that had to be postponed from Palm Sunday, it was the honoring of mom’s during worship, it was Pastor Paul’s sending weekend for his sabbatical, and it was a gorgeous spring day!

I have to thank the many people who helped to make the breakfast a success this morning – the dads in the kitchen cooking, the youth who helped serve, and all who were helping cleanup! I have to thank the person who donated their Thrivent Action Team so that we could share #livegenerously and raise money for our youth!

I have to thank the youth who ran to the store to pick up last minute items.
I have to thank all the members of the congregation who signed Pastor Paul’s journal to send him off!
I have to thank the worship and music board for getting the carnations so the congregation could give them out to women they would like to honor.

18425477_1432045170195521_2009996644098074660_n

But I really have to thank the youth and families at Our Saviour’s. I think this Sunday was so meaningful to me was the gift I got from one of the youth – on behalf of all the youth. She found me in the midst of my craziness running around, she stopped me, and said, “Happy Mother’s Day! You’re kinda like a second mom to me. You don’t have kids, but really you’re like a mom to all the high school youth.” It was hard to keep going after that, I had to hold back the tears!

It’s an honor to be lifted up, to be seen as more than a friend, to be seen as a spiritual guide and mentor that is able to share God’s love with all those who walk through the doors of our church. And as if that wasn’t enough, after posting that on my Facebook page so that I can have that pop back up on my memories 🙂 … people started commenting. From moms that I have gotten to know over the course of this last year, to also lift that up. To feel that this partnership we strive for between the church and the home, is happening. It’s not loud, it’s not grandiose, but it is subtle and meaningful, and we are making a difference in the lives of our young people!

Today was a good day. I felt renewed today in my call to this place, with these lovely people, and to all the highs and lows that come with accepting that call. God is good! So as we enter into this time of Pastor Paul’s sabbatical, I have hope – God is with us and the Spirit is on the move!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

